Individual Artist Awards 2016

Distinguished Juror: Lisa Melandri, Executive Director of the Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis

At Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis (CAM), Melandri is charged with the leadership, administration, and management of the region’s premier contemporary, non-collecting institution. Since Joining CAM in 2012, Melandri has reshaped the exhibition program and launched such initiatives as: Street Views, a monumental exterior façade exhibition series; Audible Interruptions, a guest-curated sound art series which activates the interstitial spaces of the Museum; and a landscape design project for CAM’s internal courtyard, on view in the summer months. Melandri’s curatorial projects at CAM include Ron Gorchov: Serapis, Brenna Youngblood: Loss Prevention, Toyin Odutola: Untold Stories, and two Street Views projections: Jennifer Steinkamp: Orbit and Marco Brambilla: Materialization/De-Materialization.

Prior to joining CAM, Melandri served as the Deputy Director for Exhibitions and Programs at the Santa Monica Museum of Art, where, during her eleven-year tenure, the museum grew significantly in scope and size. While at SMMoA, she curated a number of notable exhibitions, featuring such artists as Mickalene Thomas, Marco Brambilla, Alberto Burri, William Pope.L, Philip Guston, Al Taylor, and Beatrice Wood.

Melandri received her undergraduate degree from Harvard University and a Master's degree in Art History from the Williams College Graduate Program.

The international call for entry yielded highly diversified candidates from 33 states of the United States and nearly 40 different countries. We extend our deep gratitude to Ms. Melandri for her expertise, diligence, and serious consideration of all of our candidates, as demonstrated in her quotes regarding the work of the 2016 winners.

Selected Artists: